Book Review: Wake

Wake (Watersong #1)Image
Amanda Hocking
YA fantasy
Published by: StMartins
Published: 2012
2.5/5

                Gorgeous. Fearless. Dangerous. They’re the kind of girls you envy, the kind of girls you want to hate. Strangers in a town for the summer, Pen, Lexi, and Thea have caught everyone’s attention – but it’s Gemma who’s attracted theirs. She’s the one they’ve chosen to be a part of their group.
                Gemma Fisher seems to have it all – she’s carefree, pretty and falling in love with Alex, the boy next door. He’s always been just a friend, but this summer they’ve taken their relationship to the next level.
                Then one night Gemma’s ordinary life changes forever. Penn, Lexi and Thea invite her to party with them at the cove, and the next morning she wakes up on the beach feeling groggy and sick, knowing something is different.
                Suddenly Gemma is stronger, faster, and more beautiful than ever. But her new powers come with a terrifying price and as she uncovers the truth, she’s forced to choose between staying with those she loves – or entering a new world brimming with dark hungers and unimaginable secrets.

                                                                                ­­­____________________________

                This book was so disappointing for me, which is so unbelievably sad for me because I really like Amanda hocking, I mean I even follow her on instagram but this just didn’t do it for me the way her ‘Trylle’ Series did.  I also don’t even know if I actually didn’t like the book or if I was just too busy to enjoy it the way it deserved to be enjoyed.
                The magical creature aspect of this novel was fantastic; I love how Amanda Hocking takes mythical creatures and reinvents them into interesting and believable characters. Using Sirens instead of mermaids was perfect. What’s better than beautiful deadly creatures, Sirens are like the vampires of the sea. You’d never want to run into one in real life, but fantasizing about them over in a novel or admiring them in a movie is okay.
                However, my enjoyment of this book ended with the development of the creatures and despite enjoying the general plot line I didn’t like any of the characters…not a single one, not enough to redeem the rest of the characters for me.
                I found the romance between Gemma and Alex, to be extremely bland and very boring, it seemed a little too forced for me and Gemma in general was a little too perfect. Alex as the ‘best looking guy ever, who doesn’t know it’ was kind of repetitive and boring. Gemma didn’t seem to have any friends outside of maybe her sister before Alex and her started doing their ‘dance’.  I found this unbelievable as she’s supposed to be the most attractive girl in the town, and everyone seems to like her but until this point has yet to make any worthwhile friendships.
                I enjoyed her sister Harper’s character the most perhaps, and her romance portion of the book but not enough to really redeem how bland I found everything else.
                Wake is 309 pages and I didn’t feel like we really got anywhere plot wise, or story wise and I didn’t feel like any of the characters grew or developed everything despite the involvement of Sirens stayed fairly static.
                However, a fair amount of people seem to be enjoying this series, so I am likely to check out the second book eventually.

 

One thought on “Book Review: Wake

  1. You know, I was actually waiting for you to do review after i saw u finished b/c I was really confused about reading this…now, not so much. Maybe I’ll try her other series. 🙂

Leave a Reply

