Book Review: The Selection

The Selection (The Selection #1) Selection
Kiera Cass
YA Dystopian Romance
Published By: Harper Teen
Publishing Date: April 2012
4/5

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels, To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.
For America, being selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her current lover Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want and living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.
Then America meets Prince Maxon and gradually she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined

____________________

This book sure gets quite a lot of mixed reviews! I wasn’t sure if I’d like this book at all… some people were making this book sound like absolute dribble. I however enjoyed the book over all.
The writing wasn’t great, and some of the storyline fell flat and felt forced and lacked a feeling of ‘realness’. There are redeeming qualities though, it’s cute, it makes your heart flutter and you’re excited to watch the romance and plot line develop.  I found myself smiling quite a few times, and I may have even laughed. It’s very lighthearted despite some of the dark tones and it truly does make for a great lazy read.
I actually liked America’s character, I hate her name. I do not like it when people name their children after countries, cities or whatever It`s actually a huge pet peeve for me and another huge reason I put off reading the book for so long… I know that`s terrible. She wasn’t too aggressive with her dislike of the competition, she was humble without being annoyingly so and I felt that though she didn’t develop much over the story and stayed kind of static that I didn’t mind it so much.
Prince Maxon may have been a tad too perfect. I would think he would be more arrogant and entitled… you know have an attitude but he didn’t seem to have any flaws at all, he was very humble, awed and seemed surprised so many attractive women wanted to date him and potentially marry him. I found that a little frustrating, okay more than a little frustrating, he also read a lot like Aspen. They could be the same character a lot of the time and I am not a fan of that.
The romance developed nicely; it was really cute and made me smile a lot. Even if a books not great if it came make me smile and feel mushy it’s done a great job. Although I think every year I get older I get sappier, it’s really bizarre.
The plot had some definite holes in it that made no sense to me, and was under developed in some parts but again, I think this really comes down to what you want in a book. The Romance is definitely the main story plot and everything else is secondary, so it would make sense that other things such as the rebel subplot aren’t developed quite as smoothly. This is Young Adult fiction after all and it tends to be less complex for the most part (Not always but usually in books like this it is) however, if you enjoy romance this is a fantastic read.
The only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 stars was for the plot holes, because despite really enjoying the romance, it did annoy me how often it fell flat in the development progression.
I am still looking forward to getting my hands on a copy of Elite, which is the section book in the “Selection Trilogy”
Also, this SONG really reminds me of this book so I thought I’d share it with you!
Enjoy! ❤

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Selection

  1. I won a copy of The Elite from EpicReads, so I’m going to get this one from the library once it’s returned. I’ve also seen a lot of conflicting reviews. My greatest worry is one you bring up: everything thinks the writing is bad. That can really ruin a book for me, but I’ll give this one a chance anyway. And give away The Elite if I don’t like, I suppose. 🙂

      • I agree with you! The world-building needs to be developed more I think. But the romance, I thought it was cute, and caught myself smiling at times too. I liked America’s character as well. I thought it was kind of weird that the prince trusted her so easily though. Can’t wait to read Elite!!

        Leigh
        Little Book Star

Leave a Reply

