Book Review: Under the Never Sky

Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1)Image
Veronica Rossi
YA
Published: 2012
5/5

          Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving the outer wasteland-known as The Death Shop- are slim. If the cannibals don’t get her, the violent energy storms will. She’s been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He’s wild- savage- and her only hope of staying alive.
          A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry views Aria as sheltered and fragile- everything he would expect from a Dweller. He needs Aria’s help too however; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, Aria and Perry Must accept each other to survive. Their unlikely alliance forges a bond that will determine the fate of all who live under the Never Sky.

                                                _____________

         
          I for one really, really enjoyed this novel and despite hearing a lot and I mean a lot of mixed reviews I found that I was able to settle in and engage myself into this world.
          I have heard that many people didn’t find the world detailed enough and I think I probably disagree with this a little bit. I understand some things are lacking but I found the landscape vivid and easy to imagine as I was reading. I could picture Aria picking up real rocks for the first time; I could feel her feeling the sun on her skin for the first time as well (Though how she managed to not have gotten a major sun-burn is beyond me… I would figure skin meets sun first time would equal terrible sun-burn) this world despite lacking some details was real to me, I could imagine myself there. I understand this is a ‘futuristic world’ but the point is that she is exiled out into the part of the world were technology doesn’t exist.
          I found Aria to be a strong character given her situation and the fact that she led an incredibly sheltered life where most physical and social interactions happen in virtual reality to ‘protect’ its people. She goes through some really scary changes once she leaves the compound and experiences a literal new world of things that’s she’s only heard about or seen in a hologram.  I know the thought of her being ‘so beautiful’ is clichéd but it also makes sense given the fact that every single person inside the compound is genetically altered. Why would anyone create ‘unattractive’ people?
          Perry is okay I think, I enjoyed his character and am hoping for a little bit more development towards him. His personality seems a little unstable, as though the author may have flip flopped a bit. I don’t think you could say that someone who doesn’t talk a lot suddenly talks all the time… that was a little weird? Maybe I misunderstood. I really like that he is so loyal, and loving and kind. To the root of his personality he is a kind hearted person even though he is supposedly a bit of a ladies man… It’s also kind of awkward to me that he can ‘sense’ when a woman is ready to get pregnant… convenient but awkward.
          I am really looking forward to the next book in the trilogy and am hoping it’ll keep me up until 1am when I feel like death because I have to read it and find out all the goodness and excitement and the ROMANCE! 
         
          If you liked this book I think you would like: Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean M. Auel… This is a story about early humans and is adult fiction but they kind of remind me of each other… only not at all but I think you’d like it!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Under the Never Sky

  1. Pingback: May Reads & June TBR | Not all who wander are lost

Leave a Reply

