Book Review: Coraline

CoralineImage
Neil Gaiman
Adapted & Illustrated by P. Craig Russell
Graphic Middle grade Novel
3/5

            When Coraline steps through a door into her family`s new house, she finds another house strangely similar to her own (Only better). But there`s another mother there and another father, and they want her to stay and be their little girl. They want to Change her and never let her go.
            Acclaimed artist P. Craig Russell brings Neil Gaimen`s enchanting, nationally bestselling childrens book CORALINE to new life in this gorgeously illustrated graphic novel adaptaion.

                                                            ­_________________

            I loved the movie Coraline, the movie happens to be one of my all-time favorites and I watch it a couple times a year.  This graphic novel adaptation however left me feeling pretty `meh` about a story that I thought I would love in all formats (looking forward to reading the actual book its self still however)
            Let’s talk about the artwork. I thought that it was okay, it wasn`t as amazing as some of the work I’ve seen in other graphic novels such as the walking dead and though this book was in color I felt that it fell flat and the characters were too…Just not what I would have wanted. I suppose I was hoping for characters that looked more like the characters from the movie and that is nobody’s fault buy my own.
            I also felt as though the graphic novel adaptation left a lot of important things/details out that I really would have enjoyed seeing in illustrations. While I thought some of the artwork was beautiful it over all failed to capture the magic that the movie had captured. I also found the storyline lacking. Her other mother is seen as terrible from the get go and Coraline does not seem interested in her other family at all at any point in the story and I felt as though perhaps they had missed an important detail there because that’s what the story is all about I thought at least anyways.
            This is not a negative review however because I still enjoyed reading it and looking at the pictures and following the story line and though it lacked some of the magic I thought it could have used I still read this book in one night, in one sitting instead of going to sleep like I should have it wasn’t all bad.
            I enjoyed Coraline, I thought her character as a whiney bratty little girl sang true and though I felt as though she was detached from most of the other characters she fought hard to make sure everyone is safe and that everyone has a happy ending, except for, of course, the other mother.
            This graphic novel adaptation is worth the read I think! If you enjoyed any of the various formats of Coraline it’s worth giving this one a shot and trying it out for yourself because at the end of the day it’s still an enjoyable story.
Image

One thought on “Book Review: Coraline

  1. Pingback: May Reads & June TBR | Not all who wander are lost

Leave a Reply

