Book Review: Unwind

Unwind (Unwind Trilogy #1)
Neal Shusterman
YA Dystopian
Published: 2007
3/5

                                                            In a society where unwanted teens
                                                            are salvaged for their body parts,
                                                            Three runaways fight the system
                                                            that would ‘unwind’ them
           
            Connor’s parents want o be rid of him
because he’s a troublemaker. Risa has no parents and is being unwound to cut orphanage costs. Lev’s unwinding has been planned since his birth, as part of his family’s strict religion. Brought together by chance, and kept together by desperation, these three unlikely companions make a harrowing cross-country journey, knowing their lives hang in the balance. If they can survive until their eighteenth birthday, they can’t be harmed- but when every piece of them, from their hands to their hearts, are wanted by a world gone mad, eighteen seems far away

                                                            __________________


            ImageUgh, you guys! I really didn’t like this novel! And I strangely feel bad about it because SO many people are up in arms over it. People are saying it’s like the best thing since sliced bread or something and I just feel like it fell super flat for me. I really wanted to like it, and I could see why other people liked it but I struggled really hard to get invested with anyone and that’s crazy for me because I’m probably like the easiest person to please when it comes to reading. I basically like almost everything!
            I really didn’t like the ultra radical idea of ‘unwinding’ which is basically abortion except it takes place between 12-18. I really don’t like the idea that you could just ‘end’ someone’s life because they cause some normal teenage problems, or because they’re not ‘worth’ keeping around. I’m actually super offended by this whole idea. I feel like this whole book is just a huge plot to make people pro-life instead of pro-choice in todays ‘abortion’ conflict that’s what the whole story was based on! People taking pro-choice and pro-life to extremes. UGH I am not a fan of that AT all… why are people such extremists! Obviously harvesting people for body parts is wrong and it shouldn’t be done!
            I must say the fact that Dr’s have made such a great medical breakthrough however is AMAZING, they can attach anything to anyone in this story it seems. I also like that not everything is perfect about the surgery either, I enjoy that there are some flaws and problems with the procedures and that it’s explored in the story.
            I enjoyed Connor and Risa’s characters the most. I found Lev to be a little too unbelievable as he is steady in the beginning and then unravels extremely fast for a book that is only 335 pages and told by multiple characters.  There were parts about this story that I enjoyed. I loved seeing people help each other, wanting good things, I loved seeing how corrupt the system is and how everyone knows it but no one is changing anything (that part seems awfully realistic IMO). I thought the world building though lacking any actual depth was interesting at times, I liked a lot of the character interactions but I didn’t actually connect with a single character which may have been what the whole problem was in the first place.  How can you enjoy a story without characters you connect with, I don’t have to like the character but I at least have to connect with them in some way… does this make sense?
            Anyways, I’m going to stop talking now because otherwise this will turn into 2/3 rant and 1/3 actual review!!

One thought on “Book Review: Unwind

  1. Pingback: May Reads & June TBR | Not all who wander are lost

Leave a Reply

