Book Review: The Name of the Wind

The Name of the Wind (The King Killer Chronicle: Day One)Image
Patrick Rothfuss
adult Fantasy (aka best most amazing book EVER)
Published: 2008
5/5

 

                    MY NAME IS KVOTHE
                I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings, I burned down the town of Trebon, I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during the day. I have talked to the Gods, loved woman, and written songs that make the minstrels weep
                    You may have heard of me…

                So begins a tale unequaled in fantasy literature- the story of a hero told in his own voice. It’s a tale of sorrow, a tale of survival, a tale of one man’s search for meaning in his universe, and how that search, and the indomitable will that drove it, gave birth to a legend.

                                                                                ­­­­­____________________

                This book… is amazing, it’s addicting and honestly there are not quite enough words to describe this book fully. This book is one that you will not and cannot get out of your mind, when you’re not reading it you’ll think about it and you’ll feel an itch under your skin that you won’t be able to fulfill until this book is in your hands and the words are spread before your eyes, you will be addicted til the last sentence and then you’ll start obsessing over getting your hands on its sequel.
                This was an absolutely, hands down, brilliant start to what I think will become a very beloved and addictive trilogy. This book has everything you could wish for and desire within it. The depths of the thought that went into writing this book will blow you away. You’ll fall in love with Kvothe and you’ll need… Desperately to know what happens next. I have not been so enthralled with a story since I was a child reading Harry Potter. The Name of the wind is in a league of its own and should be put way up high with the likes of the Lords of the Rings Trilogy.
                This is a story that will pull at your heart strings for sure. It`s desperate, depressing, hopeful and fulfilling all at the same time, and that`s a pretty amazing thing. It leaves questions on your tongue and a secret wish in your heart that this world existed and how much you want to be a part of it.  There were parts of this story that made me so incredibly sad that I wasn`t sure if I`d be able to continue with the story because it was so devastating, raw and all at the same time it`s so beautiful and you cannot help but come back and root for Kvothe.
                I seriously cannot wait to get my hands on the next installment `The Wise Man`s Fear’… seriously… I HIGHLY recommend this book to EVERY SINGLE HUMAN ON THE PLANET and to all aliens if they so exist!
                So… stop reading this and get your hands on a copy of this book… like now. <3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3Image

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Name of the Wind

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Name of the Wind | Mrs. T

  2. Wow I love that quote! “She isn’t seen as beautiful, she is beautiful seen” 🙂

    PS: Love the re-design. I love this theme, its one of my favorite of the new ones from wordpress.

  3. Pingback: May Reads & June TBR | Not all who wander are lost

Leave a Reply

