Book Review: Sailor Moon Vol. 1

Sailor Moon (Pretty Guardian) Vol. 1Image
Naoko Takeuchi
Manga (Magic Girl? I don’t know tbh)
Published: 2003
5/5

            Usagi Tsukino is a normal girl until she meets up with Luna, a talking cat, who tells her that she is Sailor Moon. As Sailor Moon, Usagi must fight evils and enforce justice, in the name of the Moon and the mysterious Moon Princess. She meets other girls destined to be Sailor Senshi (Sailor Scouts), and together, they fight the forces of evil!

 

                                                ___________________________

 Image           Okay, let me just tell you how excited the little girl inside of me is. When I was a kid and I mean like EARLY elementary school young I was super, super obsessed to the max with Sailor moon. It was on TV every day at 4 o’clock and I would get my VCR out and record each and every episode until the end of time (No not really I did lose interest when I got a little bit older when I thought that boys were more important… apparently) So when I saw that they re-issued the Sailor Moon Manga to be true to the Japanese Manga I was over the moon excited! (ha ha). I am happy to announce that this Manga was in ever essence of the word perfect to me.
            It’s interesting reading something that used to be half hour episodes on TV because the actual ‘acts’ are much shorter in comparison and the TV had more detail (What!? What is this!?) But it was fantastic anyways truthfully. The Drawings are beautiful and the storyline is still amazing and it made me so happy to spend an hour of time with a character that I grew up wishing I’d be. Seriously, I thought when I was 14 a cat would come into my life and tell me I was a Sailor Guardian, (There was a cat but alas it did not tell me a thing) I think I had a pretty active imagination as a child though because I also thought I would get an acceptance letter to Hogwarts and become a Pokémon master. I also spent a lot of time arguing over Sailor Scout dolls with friends because they always wanted to be the character I wanted to be pfft.
            Okay! Enough about me because that’s not what this post was about but why not tell you embarrassing things about me instead of telling you about this MANGA!?
            I thought that the story and reading style were interesting and very easy to follow, although it is kind of strange to be reading a book backwards. The Art was fantastic, it was Imagebeautiful truthfully I always thought Sailor Moon was the most beautiful cartoon ever (I also thought Sailor Mars was super pretty too but she was mean and scared me when I was little) and because she fights evil and has such an interesting LOVE story with Tuxedo Mask (Who was probably my first crush EVER) It was hard not to love her. As far as main characters go she’s extremely flawed, worries about her weight, eats a lot and is extremely unreliable… this girl is late for EVERYTHING…ALL THE TIME!!
            I think that this is a very good read, it’s not a long read it took me about 1 hour to get through it, including looking at the pictures. Also I think it’s one of the biggest Manga/Anime’s that have ever existed (But what do I know I only really know Sailor Moon ha ha) so I think that this would be a great place to start if you’re a girl because these are definitely directed towards woman. There is swoon worthy romance, bad ass fight scenes, interesting and flawed characters. I haven’t come across anything racy yet and I don’t believe there is but I could be wrong as I’ve only read the first volume.
            This is definitely a must read if you’re interested in exploring this genre or if you’re already invested in it and haven’t tried it yet!! I am for sure going to be checking out the second volume SOON; in other words the second I can get my hands on it ❤
Image

One thought on “Book Review: Sailor Moon Vol. 1

Leave a Reply

