Book Review: Ring

Ring (Ring #1)Image
Written by: Koji Suzuki
Translated by: Robert B. Rohmer & Glynne Walley
Genre: Horror
Published:  2003
Rating: 3/5

           
            A mysterious videotape warns that the viewer will die in one week unless a certain, unspecified act is performed. Exactly one week after watching the tape, four teenagers die one after another of heart failure.
            Asakawa, a hardworking journalist, is intrigued by his niece’s inexplicable death. His investigation leads him from a metropolitan Tokyo teeming with modern society’s fears to a rural Japan–a mountain resort, a volcanic island, and a countryside clinic–haunted by the past. His attempt to solve the tape’s mystery before it’s too late–for everyone–assumes an increasingly deadly urgency. Ring is a chillingly told horror story, a masterfully suspenseful mystery, and post-modern trip.
            The success of Koji Suzuki’s novel the
Ring has led to manga, television and film adaptations in Japan, Korea, and the U.S

                                                            ________________

            Well I wasn’t too sure going into this book what I would think of it. I love scary movies (Or at least I used too now they keep me up at night with lights on) and I love scary books. I am a big fan of good ol’ Stephan King and so I was really intrigued by this series when I first heard about it on Youtube (I would tell you who mentioned it but I cannot for the life of me remember who it was…) so I picked myself up a copy and read it less than 24 hours.
            This isn’t a big book, it boasts less than 300 pages in my copy and I’d say the writing is not small nor is it large! It’s an interesting read for sure. I didn’t find it amazing or anything so I was very disappointed by that. It was captivating however, and it did grab my attention even though at times I found myself wondering off into time and space.
            I think one of the biggest issues I had with this book was the fact that I had seen the movie and that the book and the version of the movie I had seen were so different! In example the main character of the book is a man and the ‘evil’ character in the book’s age was vastly different from the movie. Actually you know what, the only thing that was the same was the fact that there was a creepy video… yup that’s about it I am sure… like most book to movie adaptations anyways.
            I wasn’t really overly enjoying the book but the ending was really good so like the last ¼ of the book was fantastic, gripping and I really, really wanted to make sure that this man would live and so would everyone else who was involved in this ridiculously evil tape. Was also interesting to note that they used VHS tapes!! Which I had actually forgotten ever existed ha ha.
            I think this is worth a read if you’re looking for something that crosses a lot of lines… and I mean a lot of lines there was some messed up stuff going on in this book that I don’t think I am every going to fully understand nor do I want to truthfully. Though it’s a little dull in the beginning I urge you to keep going, what actually happened was so interesting and messed up that it will for sure capture your attention and possibly give you nightmares and thank all who ended the life of the VHS tape!!! That being said, I’m not sure if I’ll continue with this series as I found this novel made a great standalone personally and I feel like continuing on with the story would somehow ruin it.
            Cheers! ❤

One thought on “Book Review: Ring

Leave a Reply

