Book Review: Onyx

Onyx (The Lux #2)Image
Jennifer L. Armentrout
Young adult Paranormal
Published: 2012
5/5
*Spoilers will be found within this post

 

            Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…
            Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than  a product of our bizarre connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.
            Something worse than the Arum has come to town…
            The Department of Defense is here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.
            But then everything changes…
           
I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them-from me?
            No one is who they seem, and not everyone will survive the lies…

                                                            _____________

            What a fantastic book! Onyx was even better than Obsidian which I found surprising. Onyx packs quite the punch with a whole new array of twists, turns and secrets that are spilling from every direction. I picked up Onyx shortly after reading Obsidian and was really excited to be able to tuck myself right back into the story and find myself completely immersed.  I cannot tell you in words how pleased I was to find that Onyx lived beyond my expectations and has quickly become one of the best books that I’ve read so far this year. This is a series that I feel is definitely worth checking out, it goes beyond your expectations.
            Katy develops powers in this book thanks in part to the connection that she shares with Daemon and I am absolutely enthralled with the fact that Katy is strong and independent outside of Daemon and that she does not need him to protect her all the time. Katy is sassy, smart and able to stand on her own two feet and hold her own in battle which I believe is very refreshing in a young adult paranormal series. I also love that she holds true to herself, that she continues doing the things that she loves despite perhaps what other people think and say in regards to it.
            Daemon’s development throughout Onyx was also fantastic. It pleased me to no end to finally get to know him a little bit better and that he’s becoming less standoffish and rude to everyone on the whole planet (Because he’s kind of a jerk, he’d admit it too I’m sure). It’s nice to see his tenderness towards Katy come out, that he actually shows it now and despite the potential consequences he still peruses Katy and wants to be with her. His protectiveness of her is great in the way that it’s not overbearing and he doesn’t try to force her to what he wants, in the end he lets her make her own decisions even if he doesn’t agree with them or trust some of the people she becomes mixed up with.
            My only real character issue in this book was Katy’s mother, who I think falls flat. I understand that she trusts her daughter but she doesn’t seem to want to spend much time with her, often leaving her alone to spend oodles of time working or hanging out with her new boyfriend which I think is pretty unfair of her and not very realistic? Some of her reactions seemed surprising because of how absent she is throughout the book series thus far.
            The plot development aspect of this book was great, entertaining and filled you in on a lot of holes that you may have felt in the first book in the series.  I am really enjoying the direction in which the main storyline outside of the romance is taking. I am enjoying all the action, drama and suspense; I think it’s all very fantastic.
            Again, this is a great second addition to the Lux series and I am deeply looking forward to the third book in the series which I am going to try and put off reading for a while until the release of the fourth book is closer.
            Side Note: Anyone who has read these books do your covers feel oily too? They have the weirdest texture. After I finish holding them I always rub my fingers together because I feel like the book should have left reside! So weird right?

One thought on “Book Review: Onyx

Leave a Reply

