Book Review: Obsidian

Obsidian (Lux #1)Image
Jennifer L. Armentrout
Young adult science fiction
Published
4/5

 

                When seventeen-year-old Katy Swartz moved to West Virginia right before her senior year, she’d pretty much resigned herself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring, but then she spotted her hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up…until he opened his mouth.
                Daemon Black is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. It’s hate at first sight, but when a stranger attacks her and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens. The hot guy next door? Well, he’s an alien. Turns out that Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities and Katy is caught in the crossfire.
                Daemon’s touch has lit her up like the Vegas Strip and the only way she’s getting out of this alive is by sticking close to him until her alien mojo fades. That is if she doesn’t kill him first.

 

                                                                                _________

                Katy Swartz is a blogger! A book blogger even, which I thought was pretty neat and actually sometimes annoying which is weird to me to feel that way as I write a book blog. This is also an alien romance, which I think is also pretty rare at least in YA and I have yet to stumble across it in the way that it’s portrayed in this book. I know The Host deals with aliens and romance but I think that it is a whole different ball genre in comparison to how this romance evolves and works.
                 I thought the story was interesting and intelligent; though I found it a little slow at first but geez once it gripped me I was completely and utterly under its spell. It is fabulously written, holds fantastic and believable characters with even more fantastic and believable character backgrounds. The story almost kind of reminded me of that an older TV show named Roswell.
                I really enjoyed the romance progression, it didn’t seem forced and is obviously not moving very fast it’s a slow building romance with lots of sexual tension… a lot… there is even a steamy sex/fooling around scene, but hey! It happens in real life why shouldn’t it happen in fiction? It wasn’t overly graphic which I was super happy about; either those kinds of scenes are done well or they leave me feeling really awkward.
                I really liked Katy’s character; I thought she was so sweet and kind in spirit. Daemon is a bit of a hot mess on the other hand however, he is in very much need of some guidance. He also really needs to figure out what he wants and if he’s will to go for it despite the consequences. I’m under the impression he certainly does go after it at some point as the story is up to three books now I believe and there may be a possibility of at least two more books in the future.
                I would love to get into more detail regarding the actual story but feel like if I continue to dig in it’ll reveal to much to those who may read this that have not started this series so I think I’m going to stop here and leave you with this…  just get in your car or on a bus or however you get around and BUY IT

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Obsidian

Leave a Reply

