Book Review: Haunting Violet

Haunting VioletImage
Alyxandra Harvey
Young adult Paranormal
Published: 2011
4/5 stars

                Violet Willoughby doesn’t believe in ghosts. But they believe in her. After spending years participating in her mother’s elaborate ruse as a fraudulent medium, Violet is about as skeptical as they come in all matters supernatural. Now that she is being visited by a very persistent ghost, one who suffered a violent death, Violet can no longer ignore her unique ability. She must figure out what this ghost is trying to communicate, and quickly because the killer is still on the loose.
            Afraid of ruining her chance to escape her mother’s scheming through an advantageous marriage, Violet must keep her ability secret. The only person who can help her is Colin, a friend she’s known since childhood, and whom she has grown to love. He understands the true Violet, but helping her on this path means they might never be together. Can Violet find a way to help this ghost without ruining her own chance at a future free of lies?

                                                            _____________

            This was an engaging story, mysterious and intricate; it draws you so delicately into its web. The love story mingled within the creepiness and mystery was so simple, so sweet and so utterly perfect. I really enjoyed the progression of this story, all the neat little twists and turns and uncovering all the secrets that had been kept buried.
            Violet is a strong, strong girl who has put up with and been through a lot throughout her life. Living constantly under the threatening and violent shadow of her mother, she had struggled to figure out who she was until she came into her own, until her new found ‘sight’ released her from the dangerous threads her mother was holding her by.
            Colin was also fairly likeable though he was not quite whom I thought he was either. I must have read the back wrong when I first picked up this book because I thought he was her brother! Thank goodness I got that straightened out soon enough however as the story becomes very clear just who Colin is.
            Her Mother was a piece of work, evil and vindictive, so obsessed with her own beauty she fails to act as a mother should. She even goes so far as to be embarrassed when her daughter calls her ‘mother’ which is all sorts of craziness. She prays on the weak and takes advantage of many people including her servants and her daughter and those whom have placed their trust in her.
            I liked how the story progressed, the way it flowed and how even the cover of the hardback tied in so perfectly within the book. How everything you see on the cover was a sign of what was to come. I find it rare when a cover actually ties into the actual plot of the book so that was a neat little perk for me and extremely pleasing as that’s often something that drives me a little batty at times.
            This is a standalone novel and I loved that about it. So many books are series and trilogy’s that finding a good solid standalone becomes far and in-between. I adored every page of this book and am very glad that I took the time to read it though I was not quite sure at first if I would enjoy it.
            I would very much recommend this book. I think it’s also a story that could be enjoyed more than once. So… if you’re looking for something with scandal intrigue and paranormal elements and a healthy dose of romance I really think you should get this out a.s.a.p.
           

 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Haunting Violet

  1. I enjoyed this review. I have always wanted to read more about people interacting with ghosts, but I can never seem to find one that pulls me in. Thank you for showing this I’m sure I’ll read it very shortly.
    A. Willow

    • I am glad you enjoyed it. If that’s what you’re looking for I am sure this book is right up your alley 🙂 It was fantastic and for sure wroth the read especially if that’s what you were/are looking for! 🙂

  2. Strangely enough, I’ve never read a ghost story. This one seems interesting but I read a book by Harvey a while ago and never liked her writing, so dunno if i will read this one. Great review! 🙂

Leave a Reply

