Book Review: The Poisoned House

The Poisoned HouseImage
Michael Ford
Young Adult horrorish
Published: 2010
4/5

 

                It is the winter of 1856 and Abigail Tamper now an orphan lives in and works in a crumbling manor house in London. Lord Greave is plagued by madness and his son Samuel away fighting in the Crimea, the running is left to Mrs. Cotton, Lord Greave’s deceased wife’s sister. The only fun the staff manages to have is when they torment Mrs. Cotton by pretending that the old house is haunted.
                However, something strange is happening and Abi is beginning to believe that the house really is haunted; the spirit however, has a revelation that threatens to destroy Abi’s already fragile existence. With Samuel’s return to England badly wounded, it is up to Abi to nurse him back to health while trying to find out if there is a killer in their midst… The truth will turn everything Abi has ever known upside down.

                I completely, with every fibre of my being, loved this book. I read it in one sitting, it is not very large but the characters are so engaging and I’ve honestly never been able to say no to any book that takes place in a big crumbling old house they are after all, the houses I lust after and hope to own one day (Crosses fingers). I just really enjoyed how this book managed to get under my skin and leave my butt firmly implanted on the couch for a few solid hours.
                Deliciously creepy, and fantastic characters really make a somewhat cliché novel brilliant. The Characters were all so flawed, I couldn’t help but love most of them, and even the annoying ones that you wished would just kind of disappear. Everything was just so creepy and dark it was like watching a movie, the words really painted pictures for me in my mind! Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.
                There were so many twists and turns in this novel it had my head spinning a few times, and I couldn`t help but fall more and more in love with Abi`s character progression as the story continued on. I thought that she developed so naturally and flawlessly that it was like the novel was taking place in a fast forward real time kind of way. Her kind heart and spirit really made you root for her and I was so pleased with the ending.
                I highly recommend this novel if you`re looking for a short dark mystery read. This is the kind of book read curled up with a cup of hot tea and a stormy night.
               

 

               

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Poisoned House

Leave a Reply

