Book Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

The Girl with the Dragon TattooImage
Stieg Larsson, Reg Keeland(Translator)
Suspense thriller
Published: 2005
4/5

                Mikael Blomkvist, a once respected finical journalist, watches his professional life rapidly crumble around him. Prospects appear bleak until an unexpected (and unsettling) Offer to resurrect his name is extended by an old-school titan of Swedish industry. The catch- and there’s always a catch- is that Blomvist must first spend a year researching a mysterious disappearance that has remained unsolved for nearly four decades. With few other options, he accepts and enlists the help of investigator LIsbeth Salander, a misunderstood genius with a cache of authority issues. Little is as it seems in Larsson’s novel, but there is at least one constant: you really don’t want to mess with the girl with the dragon tattoo.

 

___Review___

                Sometimes when a book gets a lot of attention I put off the book because I get extremely nervous the book won’t live up to my expectations and the praise of everyone else reading the book. I always usually end up reading these books but sometimes I wait a long time…which is the case with the Millennium series by Stieg Larsson, it is also off putting, in my opinion, that the series is not actually completed and that it won’t be completed as the author has passed away. However, now that the crazy mass consummation of these books is over I thought it would be safe to give it a try as the opinions I had were more likely going to be my own at this point.
                Loved it, loved it so much! It is sure a long winded book though, jam packed full of detail, and sub plots some of which I assume will be explored more in the second and third books of the series. I really thought that The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo had amazing development done. There was no confusion with anything when I read it (and I had to read this over quite a period of time as I’ve been swamped with school and looking after my husband’s grandfather) it all flowed together very well, made perfect sense and there was nothing that seemed out of place or thrown in as a filler, everything developed into the story line and I really enjoyed that a whole lot and sometimes I don’t feel like that happens enough. A lot of stories seem to start sub plots but not many make it through completely by the end of the novel or series.
                Loved all the characters, thought they were fantastically developed. I loved Lisbeth’s character portrayal and how she stayed true to her character throughout the whole novel even when she does start to trust Blomkvist more and lets him in so to speak.  She’s a very strong woman in character and physically (Despite her small size) and sometimes it’s really nice to see a woman that can take care of herself a woman that really doesn’t need much from other people but portrayed in a realistic almost saddening way.
                Blomkvist who is the main character of the story (pretty much anyways, he gets considerably more page time) was alright, I mean I wasn’t completely sold on him mostly just because every woman who he comes into contact with seems to want to have unattached meaningless sex…which I don’t know always seems kind of forced and fake… maybe more along the lines of unrealistic? But anyway, he was easy going and fairly likeable for the most part. He’s very smart and intelligent and that’s always nice to have in a main character.
                Loved how the story as a whole developed and loved that we got a whole lot of everything! Wow did a lot of stuff happen in this story which I would love to discuss with you but alas, that would leave spoilers all over this blog post.
                Anyway, Fantastic, fun, mysterious, adventurous… everything you could want basically in a book.
                Recommended: Everyone (age appropriate maybe… things do get considerably dark)
                Warning: Rape is reoccurring in this book, if this will trigger or be hurtful to you in anyway, perhaps consider not reading this book.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

  1. The American movie of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo stars Daniel Craig – not even that made me like the movie!

    I will write a review on the 3rd book, I promise. If you do get a change, check out my review on the first two. I’m sure you will love the rest of the series… The story just gets better!

  2. You know the movie wasnt BAD, but I’ve read the books and saw the swedish movies (which was awesome btw, I LOVE it when a movie stays true to the story).

    The problem I had with the american movie (and some of my friends too) were that they changed the story line, left too much out. It was so dissappointing. I guess if you loved the books you would be annoyed. For someone who didn’t read them, they probably thought the movie was great.

    • boo! WordPress ate my comment!
      I’ll probably stick with the Swedish movies! the book was written by a Swedish person so I think they would obviously make the best movie (Plus I really just love subtitled movies for some reason ha ha) It’s like reading a book AND watching a movie maybe?

      • They were staying true to the story and the author’s legacy. I think that was very respectful. And the actors were great (although I must say no Daniel Craig’s ;))

        I also like subtitled movies. I saw these ones twice (all 3) and I love love Coco Avant Chanel and some other french movies. I even watch some of the popular Bollywood movies! How about you?

Leave a Reply

