Book Review: Switched

Switched (Trylle Trilogy #1)Image
Amanda Hocking
Fantasy YA
5/5

               

 

            When Wendy Everly was six years old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. Eleven years later, Wendy discovers her mother might have been right. She’s not the person she’s always believed herself to be, and her whole life begins to unravel-all because of Finn Holmes.
                Finn is a mysterious guy who always seems to be watching her. Every encounter leaves her deeply shaken… though it has more to do with her fierce attraction to him than she’d ever admit. But it isn’t long before he reveals the truth: Wendy is a changeling who was switched at birth-and he’s come to take her home.

____Book Review____

                I really enjoyed this book, like really enjoyed this book.  I’ve actually read all three in the series but figured doing three separate reviews was probably the route to go as I truly believe each book has its own voice and can make or break a series
                I have heard a lot of mixed things about the first book. A lot of people did not like Wendy’s character. She is spoiled and bratty and everything you would expect her to be so I am kind of surprised that people are being so hard on her.  I mean I understand that she is kind of annoying but if you read these books and find you’re in the same boat I really, really suggest you hold out on your opinion of her. First impressions aren’t everything and Wendy really develops into someone you can’t help but admire and enjoy. She grows up considerably throughout the three books I think personally.
                To be honest, I wasn’t overly found of Finn I thought he was a little ‘too hard’ around the edges, he for sure lacks softness that you’d expect in a male lead character. It is very understandable as to why Wendy finds him attractive, though he is not a ‘bad’ boy he is mysterious, hard to get to know and extremely guarded and loyal to his job and who doesn’t want something they can’t have?  And what reader doesn’t love forbidden or unrequited love stories?
                The world building was interesting, it left a little too much for my imagination but I think it was kind of explained in the other books in more detail but that’s kind of how trilogies work I would assume. I thought her birth mother was extremely interesting, how the monarchy works as well as the social system. It’s interesting to see how everyone fits in and how they fit in and why they fit in where they do. There was quite a bit of character development for other Characters such as the Queen and Willa that I really enjoyed. It was so interesting getting to know what really made these people work and who they were underneath the pretenses.
                Though I rated this book out of 5 stars when I first initially read it, I will admit it’s not as great as the second book but using a five star scale is kind of hard to put books into ‘real’ category’s so I may adjust this in the future.  It was a good book and It’s a good series, I definitely think you should check it out but keep in mind the main character is a little M.S. but a lot of female and male characters are in YA and I think it’s kind of expected at this point?
                Anyways, hope you’re all having a great Sunday! I know I am! My Husband and I are getting a lot of relaxation and grocery shopping today and of course quality time as well.
                Let me know if you’re read this book and what you thought of this book! Or even better idea, if you’re written a review leave me a link so I can check it out and see what you thought! ❤

Leave a Reply

