Book Review: Rot & Ruin

Rot & Ruin (Benny Imura #1)Image
Jonathan Maberry
Horror
ages 12 up
4/5 Zombie Brains

                In the zombie infested world Benny has grown up in, teenagers must work once they turn fifteen-or they’ll lose their food rations. Benny isn’t interesting in taking on the family business, but he reluctantly agrees to train as a zombie killer with his boring big brother, Tom. He expects a dull job, whacking zombies for cash. What he discovers is a vocation that will teach him what it really means to be a human.
                As his world view is challenged again and again by the lessons he learns from Tom, Benny is forced to confront another horrifying reality: Sometimes the most terrible monsters are human.
               

_______Book Review________

                Must…Eat…Brains… no just kidding but I am worried about turning into a Zombie considering how many Zombie fiction related books I have been reading recently. Maybe that’s how it really starts? Hmm? Yeah!? No…?…ok.
                I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was super fun and fast paced! There was Imagenever a dull moment that I noticed. I Enjoyed Benny’s Character a whole lot, he was such a spoiled little brat in the beginning off the book but reality eventually settles in and he learns a whole lot of truth that he probably never saw coming. It was a lot of fun to watch his character develop and grow as he changed and matured into the type of person that this world needs; A hero. I cannot imagine that 14 years after a Zombie apocalypse/invasion that there would be a lot of people you’d want to cheer for but in Benny you do.
                I loved Benny’s cast of friends, they were very funny and very interesting and what I imagine perverted teenage boys to be like. Interested in girls but mostly their boobs… then again most adult males are fascinated by this also! Nix, his only girlfriend, was very loveable though did seem to have a major over reaction at one point in the novel… so did Benny though… Maybe everyone in post-apocalyptic America has an overreaction complex?  Or maybe it’s because they are teenagers?  I do not know maybe the second book will tell me?
                Sometimes it’s hard for me to put into words what I loved about a story and I’m kind of feeling that on this one. It’s a good story I just don’t feel like I can tell  you why it’s a good story without ruining the story for you?
                Anyways, had some ‘hunger game’ like elements in it… I think I can tell you that without it being a spoiler because at the same time it’s got some elements they’re completely different. Maybe it’s a bad comparison ha! : )
                Over all just really enjoyed this novel. It was well written and with proper momentum. I would recommend this book of course to Zombie lovers (And don’t be fooled though there are not a lot of Zombies in the beginning there are TONS the closer you get to the end… and I mean tons…or thousands… you know) May be more of a teenage boys thing Imagerather than a girls… it was most certainly written more to appeal to teenage guys so keep that in mind if you`re a girl!
                I’ll be seeing you All again soon! I can feel it! : ) Please comment! I love hearing from you all. Plus I am in desperate need of ideas for books to read! I am in such a funk this month! I feel like I’ve read nothing! Hope you enjoy your day!

 

Leave a Reply

