Book Review:Warm Bodies (slight movie review and awesome music within)

Warm Bodies (Warm Bodies #1)Image
Isaac Marion
Adult romance/horror/humor fiction (how do you even really class this?)
5/5 -There may be spoilers in this review

                R is a young man with an existential crisis—he is a zombie. He shuffles through an America destroyed by war, social collapse and the mindless hunger of his undead comrades,  but he craves something more than blood and brains. He can speak just a few grunted syllables, but his inner life is deep, full of wonder and longing. He has no memories, no identity, and no pulse…Just dreams.
                After experiencing a teenage boy’s memories while consuming his brain, R makes an unexpected choice that begins a tense, awkward and strangely sweet relationship with the victim’s human girlfriend. Julie is a burst of vibrant color in the otherwise dreary and gray landscape that R lives in. His decision to protect her will transform not only R, but his fellow Dead, and perhaps their whole pointless world. Scary, funny and surprisingly poignant, Warm Bodies is about being alive, being dead and the blurry line in between.

 
—-Book Review—-

                I love Zombies; and by that I mean I love Zombie everything. I am a huge fan of Zombie movies, T.V, books, graphic novels, and even video games, just over all I cannot get enough of the whole concept. This book did something for me that no other Zombie anything has been able to do for me before. It took me to a place that I was eagerly awaiting to either see or read at some point. Isaac Marion’s novel gave me an ending, or at least the start to an ending! An explanation to Zombies and what happens to them years down the road, it explains their social interactions with each other, it explains what happens when they don’t get enough to eat, and it explains eventually how they evolve into something more evil and sinister. You’re introduced to a whole new concept in warm bodies that I can honestly say I haven’t seen before!
           Image     The main Character’s name is R. He’s in either his 20’s or 30’s and appears to have been some type of business man as he wears a red tie and suit. He is different from the other Zombie’s even before Julie enters the picture. He has thoughts and inside longs for a deeper connection which he tries to have with other Zombies, for example he gets married and has two ‘adopted’ children with her. He also has a best friend named M who he sometimes hangs out with and attempts to connect with on a deeper more intelligent level.
                R and the other Zombies, especially when they start to develop become fairly intelligent, they actually kind of remind me of what the Zombies in Cell by Stephan King kind of end up being however Isaac Marion’s Zombies eventually surpass that. I really enjoyed seeing them grow and was amazed how well done it was for a book that’s not even two hundred and fifty pages!
                I liked Julie, I liked her dark past I really enjoyed how she wasn’t perfect but that she was perfect for something greater than I am even sure she herself was prepared for. It was fantastic to read about someone who basically grew up during such a strange and new time in history; the violent plague that over took her city, family and her way of life. It was interesting to see how she became who she was at the end of the book. Her relationship with Perry was interesting to watch (Through the eyes of R of course) and you come to understand why what happened is the only way it could have happened.
                I could probably go on and on about this book, I read it in one day (yesterday) and then basically right after I finished it I went and saw the movie! The movie was also fantastic, there were a lot of differences but I thought they stayed fairly true to the book except for the ending of the movie unfortunately a character in the movie dies in the book but it was ok because I didn’t feel like the character dying broke or made either the movie or book. Anyways, suggest both of them greatly to anyone interested. Should be noted though the movie is much heavier on the romance rather than what is happening to R.
                obviously this is 5/5 stars for me as well as the movie. ALSO! The music in the movie was insanely awesome. It made me so crazy happy to hear Midnight City by M83 as that is actually hands done of my top 5 songs of all time. I actually listen to this song at least once a day! So I’m going to link it below! Enjoy!
                P.s Felt I should mention that the book deals with some ‘adult’ themes that obviously make this not a young adult novel and should be taken into consideration as I know there has been some confusion about how this novel should be classed (Despite of course the author being adamant that this is not a young adult novel.)

2 thoughts on “Book Review:Warm Bodies (slight movie review and awesome music within)

Leave a Reply

