Book Review: The Girl in the Steel Corset

The Girl in the Steel Corset (Steampunk Chronicles #1)Image
written by: Kady Cross
Young Adult Fiction
3/5

                In 1897 England, sixteen-year-old Finley Jayne has no one except the thing inside of her.
                When a Young Lord tries to take advantage of Finley, she fights back and wins. But no normal Victorian girl has a darker side that makes her capable of knocking out a full-grown man with one punch.
                Only Griffin King sees the magical darkness inside her that says she’s special, says she’s on of them. The orphaned duke takes her in from the gas lit streets, against the wishes of his band of misfits and Finley thinks she might finally be a part of something. Finally fit in-until a criminal mastermind known as the Machinist threatens to tear the group apart…

 

____Boor Review____

                I didn’t enjoy this as much as I enjoyed the prequel, a lot of things didn’t add up to the prequel and that really, really bothered me. It bothered me so much that I second guessed way to many little things that had absolutely nothing to do with the actual plot of the book… I am sometimes ridiculous.
                However, that being said I still really enjoyed the story. I really enjoyed the development of Finley and all the references to classical novels like ‘The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde’ by Robert Stevenson. I thought that was really interesting, also Steampunk how cool is that? I noticed that there seems to be quite the ‘movement’ in the Steampunk genre…even video games!
                I enjoyed the romance element of the story, thought it was fun and not overly dramatic and not overly in your face screaming “LOOK AT US! WE REALLY LIKE EACHOTHER! WATCH US NOT ADMIT IT FOREVER” I really wanted a novel with some romance in it so was pretty happy that it was a strong part of the story line. A lot of the novels I’ve read recently haven’t been all that ‘lovey dovey’ and I was really itching for some and this wonderful story gave me just the fix I needed!
                There were a few things that bothered me like what I have already mentioned above and Sam’s character… I really did not like him… at all… not even a little bit. I in fact like all the evil characters more… all of them. He’s just the biggest, whine ball ever and yeah just not a big fan of him.  I also got kind of annoyed with how they were constantly describing Emily as ‘tiny’ and ‘fragile’ and ‘even her hair looked too big for her’ I get it she’s small I’m over it?  It was a little repetitive… or a lot with character descriptions.
                I may or may not continue reading the series… I borrowed my copy from the library so if they have the others or get the others at some point I will probably pick it up but not before then. I think it’s kind of on the same level as the “Twilight series” by Stephanie Meyer and the “Fallen series” by Lauren Kate so if you enjoyed those series, you’d probably enjoy this series as well.

Leave a Reply

