Book Review: Lisel & Po

Lisel & Po
written by: Lauren Oliver
illustrations by: Kei Acedera
8-12 years

Image

            Liesl lives in a tiny attic bedroom, locked away by her cruel stepmother. Her only friends are the shadows and the mice-until one night a ghost appears from the darkness. It is Po, who comes from the Other Side. Both Liesl and Po are lonely, but together they are less alone.
That same night, an alchemist”s apprentice, Will, bungles an important delivery. He accidentally switches a box containing the most powerful magic in the world with one containing something decidedly less remarkable
Will”s mistake has tremendous consequences for Liesl and Po, and it draws the three of them together on an extraordinary journey.

 

 

—-Book Review—-

 

 

            This would have been one of my favorite books if I had read this as a child or youngerish in general. I, even though I’m in my early 20’s, still really enjoyed this book anyways despite the fact that I am outside the target age range.

            It had all the elements of a good story and all the elements that I would have enjoyed to the max as a child. It is magical, Lauren Oliver did a fantastically good job making fantastically wicked and delightful characters, both of which you couldn’t help but love and appreciate in some way.  The story it’s self was fairly straight forward and simple but it shone in the story’s simplicity, the simple way in which events and life happens made this story very relatable and very enjoyable.
I loved the mystery of Po and his ‘pet’ Bundle, I loved trying to figure out their story who they were or what they were before they died. I was slightly disappointed that I didn’t get to learn more but in a big way it makes sense because the story isn’t about who Po was but rather what they had become.

            The illustrations by Kei Acedera were beautiful. I loved every single one of them and looked forward to seeing each one. I loved how the pictures followed the story so well. I enjoyed the detail in the pictures, the expressions and the backgrounds; attention to detail was very strong in these works. I really, full heartedly think you should at least check out Kei’s work if not this book in total. She is fantastic and for certain made a new fan in me.
I really, really, enjoyed Lisel & Po and will for certain be keeping this book for my children to read years down the road from now ( I need to have one first…ha) and this is the first book by Lauren Oliver I have read! (Strange? Maaaybe!?) So I am now very obviously looking forward to reading her other works. However, if you’re a fan of hers, I would assume you would also enjoy this fantastic story of adventure and self-discovery.

Leave a Reply

