Book Review: Pride and Prejudice

  Pride and Prejudice
Jane Austen
Classic novel 1/5

6a00d83451584369e200e54f5a26ff8833-800wi

              I feel really accomplished and awesome at this moment in my life. I finished Pride and Prejudice…finally. I have tried to read this book many, upon, many times during my life and never got past the first few chapters; which, in my opinion was a really sad thing because this book, this classic story was bound to be fantastic, and it was.
I loved it; it was very, very funny. Jane Austen managed to create a cast that was definitely not lacking in character. I loved that they were all so real, that they were all so flawed and how well she developed and incorporated pride and prejudice in the story line and made it seem natural.  The story lines and everything that happened seemed possible, realistic and natural. Every plot line was closed and completed, every twist and turn was surprising and fulfilling in its entirety.
I will admit I had trouble following it sometimes and that I often had to go back and read sections and pages over again until I understood who was actually speaking or what they were actually saying. It made my reading time go up which was kind of awesome because I got to actually spend a couple days and quite a few hours with one book. On average I read about 1-2 hours a day and have a novel finished (Young adult for sure) within 3-4 hours (adult might be closer to 4-5 hours). I can’t really say how long it took me to read this because I read it over so many days but for sure it was at least 4 hours probably more like 6 because I re-read so many chapters and sections.
Mr. Darcy and Miss Elizabeth Bennet, my goodness were they so c-u-t-e. Their relationship was everywhere, it was filled with about a million and one misunderstanding and so many assumptions and conclusions that weren’t based on fact, it is a wonder that they fell in love at all but I am super happy that they did. It was really awesome to see how Mr. Darcy’s character developed and how you found out who he actually was and not what everyone assumed and I loved watching him fall in love with Elizabeth, who I thought despite being a little overly judgmental was an extremely sweet and kind young woman.
Mr. Bingley and Jane Bennet were also adorable and very well suited. Unfortunately for them people tried to keep them apart for selfish reasons and yet again more misunderstandings but ultimately they got back together and it was marvellous and beautiful and everyone was happy in the end (Though I have my doubts about Lydia and Mr. Wickham) I like that it through in kind of what happened to most of the main characters in the end.
Over all thought it was a fantastic read, really funny and extremely quotable. The dialogue in this story was fantastic. This is the best romance novel I’ve read in such a long time and because it’s a classic and the original love story of all love stories I’m going to give this fantastic book 5 out of 5 stars.

_____________
“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of anything than of a book! — When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.” –Pride & Prejudice

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Pride and Prejudice

  1. This is one of my to-read classics this year but I’m waiting till I can get my hands on a good copy of the book! I loved the movie and ur review! 🙂

    • its so good. Have you seen the Lizzie Bennett Diaries on you tube??? Check it out if you haven’t. So addicting! 🙂
      I really want to buy a fancy version too but I own so many copies that I can’t justify it… eventually they’ll fall apart right?
      I actually think we had a few Classic goals that were the same this year. I Also want to read Dracula… I’ve been avoiding it though ha ha and my copy is super ugly. Yours is pretty nice!

Leave a Reply

