Book Review: House Rules

House Rules
Jodi Picoult
(Adult) Fiction
Image

            When your son can’t look you in the eye…does that mean he’s guilty?Image
  Jacob Hunt is a teen with Asperger’s syndrome. He’s hopeless at reading social cues or expressing himself well to others, though he is brilliant in many ways. But he has a special focus on one subject – forensic analysis. A police scanner in his room clues him in to crime scenes, and he’s always showing up and telling the cops what to do. And he’s usually right.
             But when Jacob’s small hometown is rocked by a terrible murder, law enforcement comes to him. Jacob’s behaviors are hallmark Asperger’s, but they look a lot like guilt to the local police. Suddenly the Hunt family, who only want to fit in, are directly in the spotlight. For Jacob’s mother, Emma, it’s a brutal reminder of the intolerance and misunderstanding that always threaten her family. For his brother, Theo, it’s another indication why nothing is normal because of Jacob.
              And over this small family, the soul-searing question looms: Did Jacob commit murder?

 

            I love a good mystery that you have to try and figure out along with the characters in the book!
This novel is written from the various character points of view. This story gives you a good idea of each characters development throughout the story, you get to hear each of their own individual voices and how everything that happens in the novel affects them. I thought she did a fantastic job developing the characters and giving them each an independent voice.
The detail to which the author gives to Jacob’s obsession with crime scenes was fantastic. It was very detailed and exact just the way Jacob is. The Court room trails were also extremely realistic and interesting. I thought she did a fantastic job making the whole story fit together, as well as incorporating a vat of information about Asperger’s, Finger print collecting, and blood splatter. If you have an interest in Crime scene analysis then I think you would really enjoy all the little details and mini crime scene details posted throughout the book. I know I enjoyed that greatly, as I am a sucker for stuff like that.
It was very heart-warming at times, I loved ‘Emma’ Jacobs mother; she was a strong woman but was not without flaws. Theo Jacob’s fifteen year old brother made me feel for him so much, just wanting attention and not feeling like he’s getting it, he finds ways to act out; Theo I thought actually showed the most maturity and growth throughout the book and I found myself identifying with him through a lot of his feelings and thoughts.
This was the second novel that I have read by Jodi and I am looking forward to trying out a few more of her books in the future.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: House Rules

  1. I absolutely love Jodi Picoult and it’s very pleasing to hear you enjoy her works too! May I recommend Handle With Care and Sing You Home, although if you want one based on crime I’d suggest Nineteen Minutes. 🙂

    • Aw thanks for the suggestions! I am for sure going to be checking them out 🙂 I was really pleased to find I enjoyed her novel 🙂 I have read my sisters keeper a super long time ago and enjoyed that as well

Leave a Reply

