Book Review: Anna Dressed in Blood (Just go buy it)

Anna Dressed in Blood
Kendare Blake

Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.Image  So did his father before him, until his gruesome murder by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. Together they follow legends and local lore, trying to keep up with the murderous dead—keeping pesky things like the future and friends at bay.
When they arrive in a new town in search of a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas doesn’t expect anything outside of the ordinary: move, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, but now stained red and dripping blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.
And she, for whatever reason, spares his life

                This is one fantastic, dark and edgy book! I loved it; I thought it was charming and absolutely brilliant.
I have never read a Young-Adult horror novel before and I am so glad that my morbid curiosity got the better of me and that I picked it up despite the rather creepy title name.  It was as much fun as it was creepy and disturbing.
I loved the main characters personalities and how they all came together, I loved watching Cas grow as he opens his heart and world to ‘outsiders’. I love his focus and determination to fight for what he believes in not what he is told.  He is a fairly open book, I think if he was a real person and you hung around him for a few hours one on one he’d be very easy to read, also easy on the eyes? The book has led me to believe so… 😉
I thought Anna was a little strange… however she is a ghost should she be normal? No… probably not. Her story was pretty sad and it was interesting to learn about how she ended up becoming a ghost that ripped people in half. Anna is disturbing in her beauty.
I thought the plot was well thought out, it had many little surprise twists and turns, I did NOT see the ending happen the way that it did that’s for sure! I didn’t even think that this books ending was a possiability… but alas in order to find out what I’m talking about you’re going to have to go out and purchase this book and while you’re at it you might as well purchase the second book because I am positive once you’ve read Anna Dressed in Blood you’re going to want to read the second one a.s.a.p. which makes me wish I had bought both of them this month!
I cannot recommend this book enough! It was fantastic, amazing, beautiful, amusing…so highly amusing! Though there were a couple `weird things`(But hey this is a ghost story) I`m going to give this book 5 out of 5 stars!
(I am also going to be at the nearest book store as soon as possible…so much for trying to slow down my book buying this month!)

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Anna Dressed in Blood (Just go buy it)

Leave a Reply

