Book Review: Beauty Queens!

Beauty Queens
Libba Bray

       The fifty contestants in the Miss Teen Dream pageant thought this was going to be a Imagefun trip to the beach, where they could parade in their state-appropriate costumes and compete in front of the cameras. But sadly, their airplane had another idea, crashing on a desert island and leaving the survivors stranded with little food, little water, and practically no eyeliner.
       What’s a beauty queen to do? Continue to practice for the talent portion of the program – or wrestle snakes to the ground? Get a perfect tan – or learn to run wild? And what should happen when the sexy pirates show up?
       Welcome to the heart of non-exfoliated darkness. Your tour guide? None other than Libba Bray, the hilarious, sensational, Printz Award-winning author of A Great and Terrible Beauty and Going Bovine. The result is a novel that will make you laugh, make you think, and make you never see beauty the same way again

~~~

             Beauty Queens is so much fun and so hilarious. If you don’t know anything about the book it will probably take you by surprise. There are so many little plot twists and turns and it reads like a ridiculous soap opera. The characters are fun, lovely and they’re all different and have distinct personalities.
              I love how Libba Bray was able to bring in so many characters and give them each their own voice; their own back stories…even their own pageant stats which was fantastically funny.  I think she did such a good job making this story that could have been deep and dark extremely fluffy and light (for the most part) all while tackling everyday issues that face a lot of teens, such as relationships, sexuality, and what is right?
                I even loved the cover of this book, the blond girl in the bikini wearing lipstick ammo? So great!  I thought that the cover was very well done, the colors, the font everything was designed the grab your attention, much in the way that pageants are flashy this book cover embodies what is held inside.
                My favorite character was Mary-Lou, she was just so sweet and innocent and so not innocent at all. I also really loved Taylor who was the character I believe you’re meant to love but hate but I never hated her. She reminds me a lot of one of my best friends (Only she is not from Texas like Taylor) I love how spunky Taylor is, I love her loyalty, her drive and determination. I think Taylor was the strongest and most focused character in the novel. I believe she did the most to keep the other characters together both physically and mentally.
               Overall I had no idea how fantastic this book was if I hadn’t reached out and grabbed it from the store’s shelf! I am very kind of annoyed with myself for putting it off for so long… I honestly should have read it years ago when it came out. If you haven’t read it pick-it-up! I don’t think you’d regret it (unless you’re looking for something serious of course)
                I am going to rate this 4 out of 5 stars

One thought on “Book Review: Beauty Queens!

Leave a Reply

