Book Review: Black City (#1)

Black City (Black City #1)
Elizabeth Richards

 

In a city where humans and Darklings areImage now separated by a high wall and tensions between the two races still simmer after a terrible war, sixteen-year-olds Ash Fisher, a half-blood Darkling, and Natalie Buchanan, a human and the daughter of the Emissary, meet and do the unthinkable—they fall in love. Bonded by a mysterious connection that causes Ash’s long-dormant heart to beat, Ash and Natalie first deny and then struggle to fight their forbidden feelings for each other, knowing if they’re caught, they’ll be executed—but their feelings are too strong.

When Ash and Natalie then find themselves at the center of a deadly conspiracy that threatens to pull the humans and Darklings back into war, they must make hard choices that could result in both their deaths.

 

This book was interesting, I somehow completely missed what this book was about when I looked into it or perhaps I got this book confused with another book?  I am actually not sure how this happened.   I don’t often read books involving anything like Vampires which is was a darkling is essentially, they drink blood are stronger than humans so that’s kind of part of the reason why I was confused about it..
The book over all wasn’t bad, I probably would have enjoyed it more if ‘Darklings’ had been a little more original. If there had been more background to them, if their story was a little more in the for front. This novel is a love story and that’s the main plot, everything else seemed secondary to me and at times forgotten about? I wish there had been more world building, more details.
The conflict between Darklings, half-blood Darklings and Humans reminded me a lot of Hitler and his conflict with the Jews. The segregation of the darklings, their treatment and living conditions were absolutely terrible and I totally would have been on team “Humans for Unity” if I lived in the Black City. I wish they had gone a little more into detail as to what the ‘wrath’ does, how it actually started.
This was not my favorite book and at times I felt I had to push myself to keep moving forward through it and I don’t know if I wasn’t just feeling it because I was so busy with holidays or if I really just wasn’t feeling it. The love story was pretty lack luster to me and moved too fast, or at least I felt it moved extremely fast, there were a couple details involved that I was kind of not sure how I felt about.
The story was pretty simple to understand and follow however, though the time line was not clear, I am not sure how much timed passed from the beginning of the novel to the end of the novel. I am pretty sure my lack of enjoyment was my own fault as I have admitted before I do not care for vampireish books (Unless you count Interview with a Vampire by Anne Rice and the Historian by Elizabeth Kostova)
If you enjoyed Twilight or books similar you would probably enjoy this book (and I would assume the series) Though Natalie is more independent than Bella Swan and Ash is less…creepy (Sorry but watching someone sleep all night is more than a little weird) Anyways it wasn’t terrible! So give it a shot if you’re interested in books like this (There are some science fiction elements that were interesting, they just didn’t go into enough detail for me otherwise this would have most likely gotten a higher rating from me )

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Black City (#1)

  1. I also essentially concluded that this book is a pretty solid read for people who like paranormal romances in the Twilight vein in the first place. I don’t, and I was underwhelmed. The attempt to make this a post-apocalyptic book in addition to romance didn’t really succeed for me, in part because of the lack of world-building you mention.

    I was also confused when, at one point, Ash mentions that before they were segregated, the Darklings had routinely attacked humans for blood. So…what is the plan to prevent this in the future? And why are we blaming humans for being afraid of a race that routinely attacks and drugs them without permission? That one confusing comment killed a lot of my sympathy for the segregation situation. Yes, it seems wrong and very Nazi-Germany–but he just admitted the Darklings had been a dangerous problem.

    • Oh my goodness, I think Ash contradicted himself more than just that one time lol! honestly I kind of felt like whoever read over her book before publishing missed some pretty big plot holes that were in some pretty big need of repair. I don’t think the book was terrible but it really did have a kind of ‘wishy washy’ history that i wish more care had been taken with.
      I think the books main focus was the romance to be honest. it seems to be a Romeo and Juliet Nazi-Germany pool of teenage hormones and drama 🙂
      I figure the end of the series they’ll all be living along side each other happily… but who knows… will have to wait and see where it goes i guess!

      • I actually had an ARC, so I was unsure if some of the craziness had been cleared up for the final version. I still don’t know how drastic changes can be between ARCs and the published copies; I’m under the impression they’re generally small.

        I agree. In terms of vampire paranormal romances, I think it’s pretty good. The actual writing is fine. I just didn’t click with the characters very much, so I wasn’t invested in the romance, so I wasn’t invested in the book.

        I wasn’t really planning on reading the rest of the series. I know there are loose ends and huge plot holes to be followed up, but I guess my non-investment is pretty deep. I’m really more apathetic towards the book than anything else.

      • Haha I am one of those obsessive people who have to finish what they have started (which can be a curse) they won’t be high up there but ill get around to them eventually I suppose

Leave a Reply

