Five Classic Novels 2013 goal

 

            I have tried and tried so many times to read classic novels and sometimes I really get into them. I really enjoyed “The Picture of Dorian Grey” by Oscar Wilde last year so I am thinking that I’ll give myself the reasonable goal of reading five ‘classic’ novels this year. I have chosen five along with a bonus five to read if I finish the first five and feel like reading some more! I will not count on myself doing that but you never know! I might just surprise myself.

1.  Peter Pan – J.M. Barrie
2.  Pride and Prejudice  –  Jane Austin
3.  Dracula – Bram Stoker
4.  Alice’s Adventures in wonderland  –  Lewis Carroll
5.  1984 – George Orwell

Bonus five

1.   Withering Heights – Emily Bronte
2.   Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
3.   Journey to the Centre of the Earth – Jules Verne
4.   Frankenstein – Mary Shelley
5.   Persuasion – Jane Austin

 

            So what do you guys think of these? Do they seem like a good start? Even my husband has read “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austin! I also own a copy of “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” maybe I should throw that one in as a bonus read? What are you favorite ‘classic’ novels? I’m really excited to dig into them once I’ve gotten through the slew of books I have recently received.
            Hope everyone has an amazing new years eve and are enjoying this beautiful first day of the year which also happens to be my four month anniversary with my husband! (we were married on September 1 2012) We’re going to celebrate by going to see the Hobbit in our Pj’s ‘cause we’re classy like that!

7 thoughts on “Five Classic Novels 2013 goal

  1. Ooooooh, good good choices! Pride and Prejudice wasn’t my favourite, but it was still pretty good! Wuthering Heights is one of my all time favourite’s, and I’ve wanted to read Jane Eyre for ages, I’m hoping maybe I’ll get round to it this year. 🙂
    I just finished reading Dracula and it was pretty good although quite hard going, so maybe work your way up to that one. 😛 I vote P & P first.

    Have fun working through the classics!

Leave a Reply

