Book Review: Glow

Glow (Sky Chasers #1)
Amy Kathleen Ryanglow

The empyrean is the only home that 15-year-old Waverly has ever known. As members of the first generation to be successfully conceived deep in space, she and her boyfriend, Kieran, will the pioneers of New Earth. Waverly knows she must marry young in order to have children who can carry on the mission, and Kieran, the handsome captain-to-be, has everything Waverly could want in a husband but there is part of her that wants more…
Suddenly, Waverly’s dreams are interrupted by the inconceivable-a violent betrayal by the Empyrean’s sister ship, the New Horizon…

 

 

First off this book took a hold of me like you wouldn’t believe; it was such a pleasant surprise! I wasn’t sure what I was getting myself into, or if I’d like the book but holy moly did I ever LOVE this book!  This book got so dark, so deep and so twisted and made you think of things in a way you’ve never thought about them before. Do we really need to make sure we survive? What is good really and can someone be both bad and good?
I thought the characters developed beautifully, I was slightly disappointed with where Seth’s character went… and shocked… his reaction was… interesting? I’m really interested to see where it goes in the second book (Which I do not know and will have to buy… so much for not needing to buy books!) I also thought Kieran was a little underdeveloped but hoping to see more from him in the next book also. Waverly was fantastic! I loved her character, her determination and perseverance despite what happened to her.
The Religious aspect of the book was annoying…so annoying… It really bothered me that religion was portrayed as so evil… it was tainted for sure as well as the view of the older men struck me as kind of odd and over the top.
It was action-packed, well developed, heart-wrenching and overall just… a good solid novel. I am over the moon excited to have managed to get this book and so glad I gave it a chance! I overall enjoyed this book more than most books I have read recently.
However, as there were a few things that didn’t quite sit well with me I will have to give this book a rating of 4 out of 5 stars though I really wanted to give it 5.
I suggest reading this book if you like the across the universe series or deep plot lines with lots of twisty turns and uncertain truths. Also, if you question what you’re expected to do vs what you want to do.

  So what do you think? If your duty was to do something that you weren’t ready for or sure if you wanted to do at all would you do it anyways?

Leave a Reply

